SCS Award Winners 2019

181120 SCSAwardMedalsIt’s our pleasure to announce the winners of the 2019 SCS Awards. We would like to sincerely congratulate all winners and we are looking forward to the ceremonies that will take place at one of our events during the year.
Not included are the winners of the SISF-SCS Awards that will be communicated in early 2019.

The Swiss Chemical Society awards the following awardees:

Werner Prize 2019

181120 Pic11 LuterbacherProf. Jeremy Luterbacher, EPFL Lausanne, for his original and groundbreaking research on chemical conversion of plant material using protection group chemistry during biomass depolymerization and upgrading.

The award lecture will take place at the SCS Spring Meeting in Dübendorf on April 5, 2019.

All Werner Prize Winners since 1936

Grammaticakis-Neumann Award 2019

181120 Pic12 Sarlah2Prof. David Sarlah,
University of Illinois, Urbana (USA),
for his great achievements is the development of photochemical dearomatization of nonactivated arenes that allows for a rapid incorporation of oxygen, nitrogen and carbon functionality with exquisite stereocontrol.

The award lecture will take place at the SCS Fall Meeting in Zurich on September 6, 2019.

All Grammaticakis-Neumann Award Winners since 1985

Sandmeyer Prize 2019

181228 SandmeyerWinner2019 EawagDr. Michael Berg, Dr. Stephan Hug, Dr. Annette Johnson (in memoriam), Dr. Andreas Voegelin and Prof. Lenny Winkel,
from the Eawag, Dübendorf,
for their experimental and modelling studies on drinking water contamination by arsenic and other geogenic elements with an enormous impact not only in Switzerland but around the globe.

The award lecture will take place at the Freiburger Symposium in Fribourg, on May 17, 2019 and at the SCS Fall Meeting in Zurich on September 6, 2019.

All Sandmeyer Prize Winners since 1994

Balmer Prize 2019

181120 Pic14 OberholzerDr. Rita Oberholzer,
Kantonsschule im Lee, Winterthur,
for developing and implementing an innovative and, in the meantime well-established, experiment of anodizing Caran d’Ache pens that can be easily used in a short hands-on training at Gymnasium level.

The award lecture will take place at the ChemEdu Meeting in Zurich on September 6, 2019.

All Balmer Prize Winners sind 2010

Dr. Max Lüthi Award 2019

181120 Pic15 WitschardMs. Sandra Witschard,
Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften, Wädenswil,
for her Bachelor thesis focusing on «Voxelated planar spheroid tissue assembly»


181120 Pic16 CornuMr. Ivan Cornu,
Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture Fribourg,
for his Bachelor thesis entitled «Synthesis of new pinene-phenanthroline and pinene-terpyridine type ligands».

The award lectures will take place at the ILMAC 2019 in Basel on September 27, 2019.

All Dr. Max Lühti Award Winners since 1992



David Spichiger, SCS