SCS Lectureship Awards

The SCS Lectureship is awarded to world-class distinguished scientists and it is organized under the patronage of the Swiss Chemical Society. Over a week, the lecturer gives five presentations and discusses with colleagues at four to five diffeent Swiss research institutions. The selection of the lecturers follows a bottom-up approach where PIs from all Swiss research institutions can propose candidates. The proram coves all areas of chemistry. The choice among the proposed lectureships is made by the board of the Division of Fundamental Research (DFR) of the SCS.

SCS Lectureship Tours

Program 2023

Prof. Stefan Hecht, Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen (Germany)
Research fields: Macromolecular and supramolecular systems and their assembly/integration into materials
Tour dates: tbd
Tour organisier: Prof. Katharina Fromm, University of Fribourg

Prof. Motomu Kanai, University of Tokyo (Japan)
Research fileds: Catalysis, complex molecule synthesis, design of functional molecules, health and energy, molecular oscillation
Tour dates: tbd
Tour organisier: Prof. Jérôme Lacour, University of Geneva

Prof. Hideki Yoremitsu, Kyoto University (Japan)
Research fields: Transition-metal-catalyzed reactions, organic synthesis with organometallic reagents, radical chemistry
Tour dates: tbd
Tour organisier: Prof. Jérôme Lacour, University of Geneva

Prof. Charlotte Williams, University of Oxford (UK)
Research fields: homogenous catalysis and polymer chemistry, including the use of bimetallic compounds as catalysts to maximise performances and selectivities.
Tour dates: tbd
Tour organisier: Prof. Eva Hevia, University of Bern

Site Coodinators per Research Institute

Program Director
Prof. Roger Alberto, University of Zürich 

Site Coordinators
University of Basel: Prof. Stefan Willitsch
University of Bern: Prof. Philippe Renaud
University of Fribourg: Prof. Fabio Zobi
University of Geneva: Prof. Nicolas Winssinger 
Univesity of Neuchâtel: Prof. Bruno Therrien 
University of Zurich: Prof. Cristina Nevado
EPF Lausanne: Prof. Sandrine Gerber
ETH Zurich: Prof. Javier Pérez-Ramírez
Syngenta: Dr. Jérôme Cassayre
Novartis Pharma AG: Andreas Marzinzik
F.Hofmann-La Roche: Dr. Stefan Bachmann 
BASF Schweiz AG: Dr. Andreas Hafner