The Werner Prize, awarded to a promising young scientist for outstanding independent chemical research, will be shared equally between Reto Dorta (University of Zurich) and Xile Hu (EPFL). The Grammaticakis-Neumann Prize, awarded for outstanding independent research in photochemistry, photophysics or molecular photobiology, is awarded to Marina K. Kuimova from Imperial College London. The Dr. Max Lüthi Award is conferred on Michael Brand (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) for his diploma work "Synthese und medizinalchemische Optimierung von Tetrazyklinanaloga". The Balmer Prize, awarded to teachers at high school (Gymnasium) level for innovation in chemistry teaching, goes to Günter Baars (Gymnasium Bern-Neufeld) for his life achievements.