Dr. Max Lüthi Award

Dr. Max Lüthi Award MedalCHF 1'000 and medal in bronze

The Dr. Max Lüthi Award is presented for an outstanding diploma thesis in Chemistry conducted at a Swiss University of Applied Sciences. Nominations must be submitted by the head of the Chemistry Department of a Swiss University of Applied Sciences. The prize is awarded annually.

Nomination for 2018

Nominations are invited from the directors of Chemistry Departments of Swiss Universities of Applied Sciences. Self-nominations are not admitted.

A nomination must include:

  • Brief curriculum vitae/s of the proposed nominee/s (max 2 pages).
  • A copy of the proposed nominee/s diploma thesis.
  • A nomination letter.
  • Not more than two seconding nomination letters.

The documents (language E/D/F) listed under 1-3 should be sent electronically as a single pdf file to  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  (e.g. nominee name-Lüthi.pdf). Seconding letters should also be submitted electronically.

The deadline for all documents to reach the Swiss Chemical Society is September 30, 2017.

Past Dr. Max Lüthi Award Winners

2017: Sonia De Andrade, ZHAW Wädenswil

2016: Flavio Gall, ZHAW Wädenswil

2015: Yvan Mongbanziama, HEIA Fribourg

2014: Yannick Stöferle, ZHAW Wädenswil

2013: Peter Elmiger, ZHAW Wädenswil; Christophe Laporte, EIA Fribourg

2012: Lucie Sägesser, ZHAW Wädenswil

2011: Michael Brand, Zürich

2010: Benjamin Otter (FHNW)

2009: Simon Lang (FHNW)

2008: Pitt Almendinger (ZHW); Caroline Emery (Haute Ecole Valaisanne and Washington State University); Daniel Mesitschek (Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg and Hochschule Offenburg)

2007: Ludovic Gremaud (Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg)

2006: Simon Lobsiger, Stefan Koller

2004: Cédric Clivaz

2003: Benoît Dubray

2002: Juan Luis Naveira; Samuel Rentsch

2001: Christiane Höfelein

2000: Pascal Beer; Thomas Roth

1999: Stefan Furrer; Olivier Vorlet

1998: Thomas L. Mindt

1996: Gottfried Blaser; Michel Houmard; Roger Mazotti

1995: Fabrice Greutert; Alexandre Krattinger; Roland Schürmann

1994: Daniel Gloor; Cyril Jeannet; Sam Derrer

1993: Stefan Lutz; Christoph Wyss

1992: Christian R. Hinderling; Marc E. Pfeifer; David Reichenbach