It’s our pleasure to announce the winners of the 2016 SCS awards. We would like to sincerely congratulate all prizewinners and are looking forward to the ceremonies that will take place at one of your events during the next year.

Paracelsus Prize 2016

CHF 20,000 and medal in gold

151208 Graetzel

The SCS awards

Prof. Michael Graetzel, EPF Lausanne,

for his invention and development of the dye-sensitized solar cell.

The prize if given on the occasion of the SCS Fall Meeting in Zürich on September 15, 2016.

Professor at the Ecole Polytechnique de Lausanne, Michael Graetzel directs there the Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces. He pioneered the use of mesoscopic materials in energy conversion systems, in particular photovoltaic cells, lithium ion batteries and photo-electrochemical devices for the splitting of water into hydrogen and oxygen by sunlight. He discovered a new type of solar cell based on dye sensitized nanocrystalline oxide films (Text from

Werner Prize 2016

CHF 10,000 and medal in bronze

151208 Kovalenko

The SCS awards

Prof. Maksym Kovalenko, ETH Zurich and EMPA Dübendorf

for his innovative studies in the chemistry, physics and applications of inorganic nanostructures.

The prize if given on the occasion of the SCS Spring Meeting in Zürich on April 22, 2016.

Maksym Kovalenko has been an assistant professor (tenure-track) of inorganic functional materials at ETH Zurich since July 2011. He is also affiliated with Empa - the Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology. The research activities of his group are carried out at both institutions (portrait text from

Sandmeyer Award 2016

CHF 20,000

151208 Logo Sandmeyer2016

The SCS awards

the team comprising researchers from Sika Technology AG, ETH Zürich and the University of Colorado Boulder, namely

  • Dr. Martin Weibel, Sika Technology AG
  • Dr. Thomas Müller, Sika Deutschland GmbH
  • Dr. Ratan K. Mishra, ETH Zürich
  • Prof. Robert J. Flatt, ETH Zürich
  • Prof. Hendrik Heinz, University of Colorado Boulder,


for their experimental and modelling studies of new commercial organic additives for the grinding of inorganic solids.

The award ceremony takes place at the SCS Fall Meeting 2016 and the lecture is given on the occasion of the 13. Freiburger Symposium in Fribourg 2017.

Dr. Max Lüthi Award 2016

CHF 1,000 and medal in bronze

151208 Gall

The SCS awards

Mr. Flavio Gall, ZHAW Wädenswil,

for his master his Bachelor Diploma Studies on the design and synthesis of cyclic metalloprotease inhibitors.

The ceremony and the lecture takes place at the ILMAC-Forum in Basel on Fri, 23. September 2016

Berne, December 8, 2015

David Spichiger, Executive Director
Swiss Chemical Society SCS


David Spichiger, SCS