The European Chemical Society, EuChemS, is organising the science policy workshop ‘The Nitrogen Element – Sustainable food production?’. You are invited to join this free online event that will be held on 26 April 2022, from 10:00 to 16:30 CEST.

Registration link HERE
Please note that online registration is mandatory.

This webinar will be chaired by Alessandra Quadrelli.

This online event is an initiative designed by the EuChemS Periodic Table Task Group. The Task Group is chaired by Nicola Armaroli and its members are David Cole-Hamilton, Christophe Copéret, Nineta Hrastelj, Rinaldo Poli, Floris Rutjes, and Alessandra Quadrelli as a guest.

The purpose of the webinar is to answer key questions such as: How does ammonia production fit within the planetary nitrogen cycle at the basis of nutrition? To what extent can the impact of ammonia production be reduced without compromising food production? Are there alternatives to the Haber-Bosch process and at what costs? Can we promote the sustainable use of this essential element?

Program Overview

10:00 – 10:05 | Opening Floris Rutjes (EuChemS President) & introductory remarks by  Alessandra Quadrelli (CNRS) 

10:05 – 10:20  | The EuChemS Periodic Table by Nicola Armaroli (CNR) 

10:20 – 10:40  |Nitrogen cycle & planetary boundaries by Nina Buchmann (ETH Zurich) 

10:40 – 11:00  | The Haber-Bosch Process by Thoa Thi Minh Nguyen, Haldor Topsøe 

10 Min Break

11:10 – 11:30  | How could Europe halve nitrogen waste by 2030? From Haber Bosch to the Circular Economy.  by Prof. Mark Sutton, UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (UKCEH)  

11:30 – 12:30 |  Panel Discussion led by Alessandra Quadrelli 

13:30 – 13:50 | Livestock’s nitrogen recycling by Rune INGELS  (N2Applied)  

13:50 – 14:10 | Microfarming by Wouter Maes (U. Gent)

14:10 – 14:30 | Down stream Remediation by Mike Jetten (Radboud University) 

10 Min Break

14:40 – 15:00 | Upcoming usages by Speaker TBC

15:00 – 15:20 Speaker TBC

15:20 – 16:25 | Panel Discussion led by TBC

16:25 – 16:30 | Conclusions by Floris Rutjes (EuChemS President) 

Céline Wittwer, SCS