SCS Prize Winners 2018

171128 SCS MedalsIt’s our pleasure to announce the winners of the 2018 SCS awards. We would like to sincerely congratulate all winners and we are looking forward to the ceremonies that will take place at one of our events during the next year. Not included are the winners of the SISF-SCS Awards that will be communicated in early 2018.

Paracelsus Prize 2018

171127 AebersoldThe Swiss Chemical Society awards the Paracelsus Prize 2018 to
Prof. Ruedi Aebersold, ETH Zurich
for his exceptional and visionary contributions to the field of proteomics in general and to the fields of analytical chemistry, protein chemistry, and mass spectrometry specifically.

List of all winners since 1941

About the Paracelsus Prize:

  • CHF 20 000 and medal in gold
  • awarded to an internationally outstanding scientist for his/her lifetime achievements in chemical research

Werner Prize 2018

171127 LuberThe Swiss Chemical Society awards the Werner Prize 2018 to
Prof. Sandra Luber, Universtiy of Zürich,
for her excellent research accomplishments in the field of theoretical and computational chemistry. Her work covers a wide range of approaches, mostly with emphasis on highly accurate methods derived from quantum mechanics, which she has applied to a wide variety of challenging systems.

List of all winners since 1936

About the Werner Prize

  • CHF 10'000 and medal in bronze
  • awarded to a promising young scientist for outstanding independent chemical research

Sandmayer Award 2018

171127 Syngenta UniAmsterdamThe SCS awards the Sandmeyer Prize 2018 to the team from Syngenta Crop Protection AG, Stein (AG), namely
Dr. Raymonde Fonné-Pfister,
Dr. Claudio Screpanti,
Dr. Alain De Mesmaeker and
Dr. Harro Bouwmeester, University of Amsterdam
for their pioneering work on Strigolactones that can be considered a collaboration masterpiece between Industry and Academia to explore novel area of this phytohormonal family.

List of all winners since 1994

About the Sandmeyer Award

  • CHF 10'000 for individuals or CHF 20'000 for groups
  • awarded to a person or to a group for outstanding work in industrial or applied chemistry

Balmer Prize 2018

The SCS awards the Balmer Prize 2018 to
Dr. Thibaud Rossel, Gymnase français de Bienne, École de Maturité, Spécialisée,
for his very original and impressive research program at the Gymnase Français where he teaches, using simple methods and resources and, even more impressively, the experiments are shared with high-school students, who are happy to carry-out original research work as part of their training in chemistry.

List of all winners since 2010

About the Balmer Prize

  • CHF 2'000 for individuals and CHF 2'000 for the school’s chemistry department or CHF 3'000 for a group and CHF 1'000 for the school’s chemistry department
  • awarded to a teacher working in Switzerland at high school (gymnasium) level for innovation in chemistry teaching

Dr. Max Lüthi Prize 2018

The SCS awards the Dr. Max Lüthi Prize 2018 to
Ms. Fabienne Arn, Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften, ZHAW
for her excellent Bachelor diploma thesis entiteled «Strukturelle Optimierung eines Matrixmetalloproteinase-13-Inhibitors»

List of all winners since 1992

About the Dr. Max Lüthi Award

  • CHF 1'000 and medal in bronze
  • presented for an outstanding diploma thesis in Chemistry conducted at a Swiss University of Applied Sciences



David Spichiger, SCS