The Swiss Chemical Society is proud and happy to announce the SCS Award Winners 2014 and to honor their outstanding achievements.

We sincerely congratulate all winners and we are looking forward to the ceremonies and award lectures that will take place during the next year.

Paracelsus Prize 2014
CHF 20'000 and medal in gold
The prize is given to  


Prof. Richard R. Schrock, Massachusetts Institute of Technology,

for his seminal work in synthetic and mechanistic organo-transition metal chemistry.


Werner Prizes 2014
CHF 5'000 and medal in bronze.
The prize is given to 


Prof. Clémence Corminboeuf, EPFL Lausanne

for developing and applying state of the art computational and theoretical methods for interpreting and solving chemical problems in complex systems



Prof. Jérôme Waser, EPFL Lausanne,

for the development of novel synthetic methods and strategies to construct complex structures of potential biological interest.

Grammaticakis-Neumann Prize 2014
CHF 5'000
The prize is given to  


Dr. Erwin Reisner, University of Cambridge,

for his research combing synthesis, photochemistry, photophysics, and molecular photobiology to develop artificial photosynthesis.


Sandmeyer Award 2014
CHF 20'000
The award is given to

Logo Syngenta gray


Dr. Harald Walter

Dr. Hans Tobler

Dr. Camilla Corsi

Dr. Denis V. Gribkov

from Syngenta Crop Protection Münchwilen AG,

for their successful and innovative efforts in discovering, developing, and producing new broad-spectrum agrochemical fungicides


Dr. Max Lüthi Award 2014
CHF 1'000 and medal in bronze. The award is given to 

Yannick Stöferle, ZHAW,
for his Bachelor thesis on the synthesis and spectroscopic analysis of chiral halomethanes and oxiranes.


Balmer Prize 2014
CHF 2'000 and medal in bronze for the prize winner and 2'000 for the school's chemistry department
There is no prize given in 2014.


David Spichiger, SCS