It’s our pleasure to announce the winners of the 2020 SCS Awards. We would like to sincerely congratulate all winners for their outstanding scientific contributions, and we are looking forward to the award ceremonies and lectures that will take place at one of our upcoming SCS events. 

The winners of the SCS Industrial Science Award Program and the Metas Award will be announced in early 2020.

The Swiss Chemical Society honors the following awardees:

Paracelsus Prize 2020

Prof. Scott E. Denmark, 
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (USA),
for his role as internationally recognized leader in the development of novel concepts of catalysis, of very useful synthetic methods, and insightful mechanistic investigations in organic chemistry.

The award lecture will take place at the SCS Fall Meeting in Bern on August 24, 2020.

All Paracelsus Prize Winners since 1941

Werner Prize 2020

Prof. Konrad Tiefenbacher, 
University of Basel / ETH Zürich,
for his innovative and original research in the field of supramolecular catalysis with focus on catalysis inside supramolecular containers, so called ‘capsules’.

The award lecture will take place at the SCS Fall Meeting in Bern on August 25, 2020.

All Werner Prize Winners since 1936

Sandmeyer Prize 2020

Dr. Andreas Schuster, Dr. Caroline Maierhofer, Dr. Stephan Bachmann, Dr. Hans Iding, Dr. Christian Lautz, Dr. Régis Mondière, Dr. Philipp Schmidt,  Dr. Isabelle Thomé,
from the Ipatasertib Team at F. Hoffmann La-Roche, and 
Dr. Christoph Strasser 
from Dottikon Exclusive Synthesis AG
for the development of an economical, scalable and sustainable process to produce Ipatasertib, an Akt kinase inhibitor currently tested in Phase III clinical trials for the treatment of metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer and triple negative metastatic breast cancer.

The award lecture will take place at the SCS Fall Meeting in Bern on August 25, 2020 and at the Freiburger Symposium in May 2021.

All Sandmeyer Prize Winners since 1994

Balmer Prize 2020

Dr. Hans-Ueli Ehrensperger, 
Kantonsschule Frauenfeld

als Auszeichnung seines Lebenswerks als Chemielehrer. 

All Balmer Prize Winners sind 2010

Dr. Max Lüthi Award 2020

Herr Nicola Christian Lüdi
Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften, Wädenswil,
für seine Bachelorarbeit «Immobilisierung von PETase auf elektrogesponnenen Cellulose-Nanofasermatten zum Abbau von Mikroplastik»

All Dr. Max Lühti Award Winners since 1992

David Spichiger, SCS