Heilbronner- Hückel Lectures 2024
The Swiss Chemical Society is happy to announce the Heilbronner- Hückel Lectures 2024. In collaboration with the GDCh this series is provided on a yearly basis alternately in Switzerland and Germany.

The 2024 series is given by Professor Dr. Peter R. Schreiner from the Justus Liebig University Giessen (Germany)

University of Bern, DCBP, Freiestrasse 3, CH-3012 Bern 
 Monday  May 13,  2024,  16.30h
 "Cool Organic Chemistry Toward CHO-Systems Chemistry”.
ETH Zurich,  Hönggerberg Campus, Vladimir Prelog Weg, Zurich, Lecture hall HCI J3 
Tuesday May 14, 2024, 16.45h
"Rethinking Chemistry: The Role of Quantum Mechanical Tunneling”.
University of Basel,  Department of Chemistry, Kingelbergstrasse 80, Basel, Large lecture hall PC 
Wednesday May 15, 2024, 16.30h
"Rethinking Chemistry: The Role of Quantum Mechanical Tunneling”.
University of Geneva, 30 quai Ernest Ansermet,Geneva, Lecture hall A100
Thursday May 16, 2024, 16.30h                                                        
"Cool Organic Chemistry Toward CHO-Systems Chemistry”.
University of Zurich, Irchel Campus, Winterthurerstrasse 190, Zurich
Friday  May 17, 2024, 13.00h 
"Cool Organic Chemistry Toward CHO-Systems Chemistry”.

Professor Dr. Dr. h. c. Martin Quack
ETH Zurich
Laboratorium f. Physikalische Chemie

The series is named after the chemists Edgar Heilbronner, born in Munich in 1921 and passed away in Herrliberg in 2006, and Erich Hückel, born in Berlin 1896 and died in Marburg in 1980.

Edgar Heilbronner emigrated together with his wife to Switzerland because of the Nazi regimes and studied chemistry in Zurich at the ETH where he also habilitated later on. In 1968 we changed to University of Basel.
Erich Hückel studied physics and mathematics at the University of Göttingen and habilitated at ETH Zurich as well. 

Past Lecture Tours

2010    Jürgen Troe, Max Planck Institut, Göttingen
2011 Andreas Pfaltz, University of Basel
2012 Joachim Sauer, Humbold University Berlin
2014 Stefan Matile, University of Geneva
2015 Paul Knochel, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
2017 Roger Alberto, University of Zurich (Tour in 2020)
2018 Martin Suhm, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
2019 Marcel Mayor, University of Basel
2020 Prof. Katharina Kohse‐Hoeinghaus, University of Bielefeld
2021 Prof. Clemence Corminboeuf, EPFL Lausanne
2022 Prof. Alois Fürstner, Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim an der Ruhr
2023 Prof. Markus Reiher, ETH Zürich


Céline Wittwer, SCS