On the eve of the SCS Fall Meeting 2018 in Lausanne, the Swiss Chemical Society celebrated the prize winners 2018 and honored three individuals and one team for their outstanding, scientific contributions.
All winners contributed an invited lecture to one of the plenary sessions of the SCS Fall Meeting and gave an isight into their research activities of the past years.

We like to take to opportunity to congratulates all winnders again for their exiting achievments and we are looking forward to their CHIMIA articels next year that will be published in issue 7-8/2019.

The Swiss Chemical Society awarded

Prof. Ruedi Aebersold, ETH Zurich,
the Paracelsus Award 2018
for his exceptional and visionary contributions to the field of proteomics in general and to the fields of analytical chemistry, protein chemistry, and mass spectrometry specifically.

Dr. Paul W. Manley, Novartis Pharmaceuticals AG, Basel,
the SISF-SCS Distinguished Investigator Award 2018 
for his impressive track record of success as a medicinal chemist, including 31 years in Basel at Sandoz/Novartis, working in several disease areas and on multiple classes of drug targets, including the invention of the commercial antileukemia drug Nilotinib.

Dr. Clemens Lamberth, Syngenta Crop Protection AG, Stein,
the SISF-SCS Senior Investigator Award 2018
for his impressive track record of success in the field of fungicide research within Crop Protection, including the invention of the fungicide Mandipropamid (Revus®, Pergado®).

to the team from Syngenta Crop Protection AG, Stein (AG), namely
Dr. Raymonde Fonné-Pfister,
Dr. Claudio Screpanti,
Dr. Alain De Mesmaeker and
Dr. Harro Bouwmeester, University of Amsterdam,
the Sandmeyer Award 2018
for their pioneering work on Strigolactones that can be considered a collaboration masterpiece between Industry and Academia to explore novel area of this phytohormonal family. 

{phocagallery view=category|categoryid=53|limitstart=0|limitcount=0} 

Photos: Alain Herzog, EPFL Lausanne, and team