Heilbronner-Hückel Lecture Series

The Heilbronner-Hückel Lecture Series was implemented in 2009 with the first series in 2010 together with the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh). The annual series take place alternatively in Switzerland and Germany.

The series is named after the chemists Edgar Heilbronner, born in Munich in 1921 and passed away in Herrliberg in 2006, and Erich Hückel, born in Berlin 1896 and died in Marburg in 1980.

Edgar Heilbronner emigrated together with his wife to Switzerland because of the Nazi regimes and studied chemistry in Zurich at the ETH where he also habilitated later on. In 1968 he changed to University of Basel.
Erich Hückel studied physics and mathematics at the University of Göttingen and habilitated at ETH Zurich as well. 

Lecture Tour in 2024:
Prof. Peter R. Schreiner
, Justus Liebig University Giessen (DE)
«Cool Organic Chemistry Toward CHO-Systems Chemistry»

  • Monday 13 May 2024, 16.30h
    University of Bern, DCBP, Freiestrasse 3, Bern
    Lecture hall S379

  • Thursday 16 May 2024, 16.30h
    University of Geneva, Sciences II building, 30 quai Ernest-Ansermet, Geneva
    Lecture hall A100

  • Friday 17 May 2024, 13.00h
    University of Zurich, Irchel Campus, Winterthurerstrasse 190, Zürich
    Lecture hall Y04 G 30

«Rethinking Chemistry :The Role of Quantum Mechanical Tunneling»

  • Tuesday 14 May 2024, 16.45h
    ETH Zurich, Hönggerberg Campus, Vladimir Prelog Weg, Zürich
    Lecture hall HCI J3

  • Wednesday 15 May 2024, 16.30h
    University of Basel, Department of Chemistry, Klingelbergstrasse 80, Basel
    Large lecture hall PC



2024: Prof. Peter R. Schreiner, Justus Liebig University Giessen (Tour in May 2024)

2023: Prof. Markus Reiher, ETH Zürich

2022: Prof. Alois Fürstner, Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim an der Ruhr (Tour in Oct 2023)

2021: Prof. Clemence Corminboeuf, EPFL Lausanne

2020: Prof. Katharina Kohse‐Hoeinghaus, University of Bielefeld

2019: Prof. Marcel Mayor, University of Basel

2018: Prof. Martin Suhm, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

2017: Prof. Roger Alberto, University of Zurich (tour in 2020)

2015: Prof. Paul Knochel, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

2014: Prof. Stefan Matile, University of Geneva

2012: Prof. Joachim Sauer, Humbold University Berlin

2011: Prof. Andreas Pfaltz, University of Basel

2010: Prof. Jürgen Troe, Max Planck Institut, Göttingen