On 1 January 2024, after one year in the position of President-Elect, Angela Agostiano formally began her Presidency of the European Chemical Society.

Angela Agostiano was elected in 2022, at EuChemS’ General Assembly in Lisbon. After one year in the position of EuChemS President-Elect, she is following Prof. Floris Rutjes as President of the European Chemical Society (EuChemS), as the term of Floris Rutjes ended on 31 December 2023. He will carry on with his activities as EuChemS Vice-President.

Angela Agostiano began her term as EuChemS President after gathering significant leadership experience as the first woman president of the Italian Chemical Society (SCI), between 2017-2019. During this time, she worked hard to increase SCI’s European and global reach by addressing societal and policy issues through chemistry, such as drafting official positions on chemical weapons. In addition, she continuously emphasizes the importance of gender equality in science, as the Chair of the EuChemS Task Group on Inclusion and Diversity, amongst others.

As the President of EuChemS, she will no doubt continue her involvement in the matters of fostering an inclusive and European chemistry community. One of her first activities in her new role will be the EuChemS Global Womens’ Breakfast event “Catalysing Diversity – How to Tackle Our Current Biases” on 27 February.

Alongside her, new Executive Board Members – Alexandra R. Albunia, Karsten Danielmeyer, Péter Szalay and Aura Tintaru also began their terms with the beginning of 2024.

Marton Kottmayer, EuChemS
David Spichiger, SCS