170908 Ceremony Andrade01

On the occasion of the BioTech 2017 conference at ZHAW in Wädenswil on September 8, 2017, Prof. Antonio Togni, President of the SCS Division of Chemical Education, awarded the Dr. Max Lüthi Award 2017 to Sonia de Andrade. Sonia, who did her BSc studies at ZHAW Wädenswil, received the prize in recognition of her Bachelor's thesis entitled «Advancement and validation of printable biomaterials and their potential use as tissue models». After the ceremony, Sonia gave a short lecture about the findings of her research.

We like to take the opportunity to congratulate Sonia de Andrade again for the outstanding thesis.


Dr. Max Lüthi Award

Dr. Max Lüthi Award MedalCHF 1'000 and medal in bronze

The Dr. Max Lüthi Award is presented for an outstanding diploma thesis in Chemistry conducted at a Swiss University of Applied Sciences. Nominations must be submitted by the head of the Chemistry Department of a Swiss University of Applied Sciences. The prize is awarded annually.


Past Dr. Max Lüthi Award Winners

  • 2016: Flavio Gall, ZHAW Wädenswil
  • 2015: Yvan Mongbanziama, HEIA Fribourg
  • 2014: Yannick Stöferle, ZHAW Wädenswil
  • 2013: Peter Elmiger, ZHAW Wädenswil; Christophe Laporte, EIA Fribourg
  • 2012: Lucie Sägesser, ZHAW Wädenswil
  • 2011: Michael Brand, ZHAW Wädenswil
  • 2010: Benjamin Otter (FHNW)
  • 2009: Simon Lang (FHNW)
  • 2008: Pitt Almendinger (ZHW); Caroline Emery (Haute Ecole Valaisanne and Washington State University); Daniel Mesitschek (Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg and Hochschule Offenburg)
  • 2007: Ludovic Gremaud (Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg)
  • 2006: Simon Lobsiger, Stefan Koller
  • 2004: Cédric Clivaz
  • 2003: Benoît Dubray
  • 2002: Juan Luis Naveira; Samuel Rentsch
  • 2001: Christiane Höfelein
  • 2000: Pascal Beer; Thomas Roth
  • 1999: Stefan Furrer; Olivier Vorlet
  • 1998: Thomas L. Mindt
  • 1996: Gottfried Blaser; Michel Houmard; Roger Mazotti
  • 1995: Fabrice Greutert; Alexandre Krattinger; Roland Schürmann
  • 1994: Daniel Gloor; Cyril Jeannet; Sam Derrer
  • 1993: Stefan Lutz; Christoph Wyss
  • 1992: Christian R. Hinderling; Marc E. Pfeifer; David Reichenbach


David Spichiger, SCS