About the Swiss Chemical Society (SCS)

Our vision is to promote chemistry-based sciences and foster innovation in Switzerland to benefit society and the environment.

Mission Statement
The Swiss Chemical Society (SCS) supports the scientific community and promotes chemistry-related activities and the information exchange among academic, government, and industrial scientists.

The SCS offers and organizes ...

  • Events, including conferences, congresses, and courses to promote the exchange of knowledge
  • Platforms for networking and fostering career development
  • Prizes and awards for outstanding achievements
  • Representing and ensuring the exchange of information in national and international organizations
  • Publications as active publisher or partner

The Society actively supports diversity and inclusion for all its members and activities.

The SCS is a member of the European Chemical Society (EuChemS), the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) and the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences (SATW). It is also connected to the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, IUPAC (with the Platform Chemistry of the SCNAT being the Swiss representative)

All members can access our SCS network platforms on LinkedIn or follow us on Twitter.

Prof. Christian Bochet, President (member of the Executive Board)
University of Fribourg

Dr. Yves Auberson, Vice-President (member of the Executive Board)
Novartis Pharma AG, Basel

Dr. Gillian Harvey, Chairman of the Editorial Board of CHIMIA (member of the Executive Board) 

Dr. Maud Reiter, Treasurer (member of the Executive Board)
Firmenich SA, Genève 

David Spichiger, Executive Director and Head Office (member of the Executive Board)
Swiss Chemical Society

Prof. Maksym Kovalenko, President of the Division of Materials Chemistry (DMC)
EPFL Lausanne

Dr. Davide Bleiner, President of the Division of Analytical Sciences (DAS)
University of Geneva

Prof. Christophe Copéret, Swiss Representative in the EuChemS Executive Board
ETH Zurich

Dr. Jan Cvengros, President of the Division of Chemical Education (DCE)
ETH Zurich

Dr. Leslie Fendt
, Member of the Board
F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG, Basel

Dr. Corinne Jud, Member of the Board
Agroscope, Bern

Dr. Hans Peter Lüthi, Director SCS Foundation
ETH Zurich and SCS Foundation

Prof. Roger Marti, President of the Division of Industrial & Applied Chemistry (DIAC)
HEIA Fribourg

Prof. Fides Benfatti, President of the Division of Medicinal Chemistry & Chemical Biology (DMCCB)
University of Bern

Prof. Thomas Bürgi, President of the Division of Fundamental Research (DFR)
University of Geneva

Data Protection Advisor:
David Spichiger, SCS Head Office

Divisions of the Swiss Chemical Society